top of page
  • Writer's pictureBridget Walsh

Reader reviews for Irish Famine Trilogy


This is to say thank you to all who took the time to write a review and post it, or add a rating. I'm delighted with the reviews on Amazon. Here are some of the most recent.

"Daughters of the Famine Road"


Thanks to reader, Shelley Clarke for this review. https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1739688503#customerReviews


cover of Irish historical novel, showing two female protagonists
Daughters of the Famine Road, Irish historical novel

"5.0 out of 5 stars What a fabulous read!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 September 2023

Verified Purchase

I knew of the potato famine in Ireland but had no idea how it affected so many of the people there. This book has opened my eyes to the dreadful tragedies. The story is so good to read, I read this book in two sittings, I then avidly read the second one in one sitting and am now on the last in the trilogy. It is beautifully written with wonderful characters and has been well researched. I thoroughly recommend this trilogy!!"


As of today, 12/12/2023 No. 431 in Historical Irish Fiction. on Amazon.com



On Goodreads

Reader review from: Lainy J Thomas

Five stars.

October 30, 2023

"Really enjoyed this book, already fond of the characters so on to book 2 now."



****


"Daughters in Exile"


Cover showing an emigrant ship and a female protagonist
Daughters in Exile, Irish historical novel

Thanks again to UK reader, Shelley Clarke who read the entire Irish Famine trilogy!


"5.0 out of 5 stars As wonderful as Book 1, a fabulous read!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 September 2023

Verified Purchase

"I finished Book Two in one day, it's seriously good reading. Each new character is beautifully developed and I honestly don't want this trilogy to end. I have one more to read and can't wait. Absolutely brilliant!!"


On Goodreads  

Lainy J Thomas, November 1, 2023

"Another emotional and credible story, continuing the tale of Jane and Annie, exiled from famished Ireland. Looking forward to starting book 3."


Marie Keates, Author and reader.

July 19, 2023

"This is the second book in the Irish Famine trilogy. It follows Annie exiled in New York with her brother Finn and sister Katie and Jane exiled in Australia. Annie sets out to help the young Irish girls she sees forced into prostitution in New York and make a life for her family. At the same time, Jane is fighting injustice in Australia, desperate to escape and get herself and Annie back home. A gripping tale of loss and strength, well researched and compelling. I look forward to the next instalment."

As of today, 12/12/2023, the e-book is at 401 in Amazon.com's Historical Irish Fiction.


***


Daughter of Éireann

The last book in this Irish Famine Trilogy.

Link here to read the full reviews for this novel. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0C7DSD1WR#customerReviews


The female protagonist looking out. 19th century Ireland
Daughter of Eireann, Irish historical novel

Susan Birch, reader, awarded five stars, here's a snippet of her review

"5.0 out of 5 stars A hard-hitting narrative of Irish life in the 1840's.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 11, 2023

Verified Purchase

This is the final novel in the compelling trilogy by a talented author. Having read the previous two, I was keen to discover what happened next to protagonist Jane Keating. I was not disappointed. This well-paced read had me gripped from the get-go, as if I was experiencing nineteenth century life through a time warp bodycam. Chapter one begins with Jane disembarking at Dublin Port, having travelled aboard ship from New York. Journeying towards her old home in Galway to search for last surviving family, she comes across countless cases of destitution as displaced people travel on foot from one area to another in hopes of a better life, only to find a similar situation elsewhere. Jane wants to help but is painfully aware that ‘everything she did, everything she touched or used or ate must cost money.’ Yet, despite the hardships, she never gives up trying to assist those in need, including her cousin’s two young children who she rescues from the workhouse. Throughout, there is a clear juxtaposition between those who have very little but are willing to share and those who have plenty but are without pity. . . "

***

Four stars from reader, Jo Jo, in the UK.

"4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting story.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 13, 2023

Verified Purchase

I have read all three of Walsh’s books. The characters certainly draw you into the story. I found I cared for the characters and wanted to know what happened to them. The history of the dreadful famine, clearances and abject poverty affecting the Irish in the 1840s into the 1850s is very well covered and gives the reader much food for thought. Of her three novels this last is stylistically the most accomplished with occasional excellent descriptions of the landscape and people. . . . "


On Goodreads.


Rosie Lee. July 29, 2023

"Janes goal was to return home to Ireland but home was

Now different everything around her had changed and so had she……a fantastic read check this series of books out you won’t be disappointed."


***

Tony Riches, July 7, 2023

Author 21 books and reader - reviewer.

"This is the last in the Irish Famine Trilogy featuring Jane Keating and Annie Power, two young Irish women who embark on epic journeys spanning three continents.

One of the benefits of writing a trilogy is the author has the space and scope to show how characters develop over time. Jane Keating is an excellent example, as she begins the first book as an innocent young girl, but we know to expect something special from her by the time she becomes a daughter of Éireann.

Set during one of the most challenging times of Ireland's troubled and turbulent history this often harrowing story is evocative and compelling. Although this book would work as a stand-alone, I strongly recommend starting with the first book of the series, Daughters of the Famine Road."



As of today, 12/12/2023 this is at no. 392 in Historical Irish Fiction on Amazon.com


Heartfelt thanks.

bottom of page